Continuing Medical Education

Doheny Eye Institute is accredited by the California Medical Association to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

The Doheny Continuing Medical Education policy is to ensure balance, independence, objectivity, and scientific rigor in all CME activities. CME content will be evidence-based and free of commercial bias. Furthermore, Doheny CME providers have identified, reviewed, and resolved all conflicts that persons involved in the development, management, and presentation disclose prior to an educational activity.

2nd Annual Doheny-UCLA International Retina Symposium, 1/27/24





Kirk Hou, MD, PhD; Usha Chakravarthy, MD, PhD, CBE; Lee M. Jampol, MD; and Michael Ip, MD





SriniVas Sadda, MD presenting





CME 2024 Panel





Usha Chakravarthy, MD, PhD presenting





CME 2024 attendees





Tracy Purcell and Doheny Team





SriniVas Sadda, MD speaking





Michael Ip, MD presenting


Doheny boasts a celebrated tradition of ophthalmology education including our international fellowship program led by SriniVas Sadda, MD, retinal imaging expert and director of the Artificial Intelligence laboratory, and renowned neuro-ophthalmologist Alfredo Sadun, MD, PhD.

Fellows at Doheny develop exceptional research, clinical, reasoning, interpretative, teaching, and writing skills. They return to their home institutions as ophthalmology leaders and lifelong partners of Doheny Eye Institute.

Several fellows have risen in their field to become members of the Doheny Eye Institute Society of Scholars, a program established in 2008 recognizing the outstanding professional contributions of Doheny-trained fellows, residents, faculty, and international scholars. Fellows receiving the honor include Peter McDonnell, MD, director of the Wilmer Eye Institute at Johns Hopkins Medicine; Professor Jialiang Zhao, director of the Chinese Academy of Medical Science Research Center; Stephen McLeod, MD, chair of the ophthalmology department at University of California San Francisco; and Paul Sidoti, MD, chief of the glaucoma division at Mount Sinai Health System.

Click here to download the Research Fellowship Application Form

Research Fellows

Yamini Attiku, MD

Iksoo Byon, MD

Sathishkumar Chandrakumar, PhD

Federico Corvi, MD

Kazutaka Hirabayashi, MD, PhD

Ye He, MD

Yongsok Ji, MD

Ayesha Karamat, MPH, MMBS

Brian Lee, MD

Jongyeon Lee, MD, PhD

Li Su, MD, PhD

Clinical Fellows

Adil Ahmed, DO

Cornea and External Diseases/Cataracts

Stephanie Midtling, MD


Juan Fernandez, MD


Alexander Engelmann, MD


Jack Lemon, MD


Katherine Lucarelli, MD

Oculoplastics & Reconstructive Surgery



Years Established

Get In Touch

Mailing Address: 150 N. Orange Grove Blvd., Pasadena, CA 91103

Telephone: 323-342-7120


Hours: M-F: 8:30am – 5pm